Sarah Leonard is one of Britain's most respected and versatile sopranos. She has a wide repertoire from baroque to contemporary and has appeared throughout the world in major concert halls, opera houses and festivals. She has premiered many works by leading composers including Harrison Birtwistle, Pascal Dusapin, Jonathan Harvey, Helmut Lachenmann, John Harle and Joe Cutler.

Her 30-plus recordings include a recital series of English Song with Malcolm Martineau, works by Varèse with Chailly and the Concertgebouw Orchestra and Ligeti’s Aventures, Nouvelle Aventures with the Schoenberg Ensemble,  and In Praise of Dreams by Joe Cutler for NME.  January 2017 saw the release of vocal works by Nicola LeFanu and David Lumsdaine with Gemini Ensemble for Metier, and The Silver Hound, new recordings of songs by Betty Roe. In 2018 she recorded Joe Cutler’s Akhmatova Fragments on his highly acclaimed new CD Elsewhereness on NMC.

For many years Sarah toured as a guest soprano with The Hilliard Ensemble, singing and recording the music of Arvo Pärt. She sang with The Michael Nyman Band for over 20 years and featured on Peter Greenaway films The Cook, the Thief, His Wife and Her Lover, and Prospero’s Books and many Nyman CDs.  Sarah has also worked extensively with John Harle and is the voice in the title music of the long running TV series Silent Witness.

Sarah regularly gives song recitals with pianist Stephen Gutman. These have included recitals at the BMIC’s Cutting Edge series, Benslow Music’s Summer Festivals, The Clothworkers Centenary Hall and The London Song Festival.

Alongside her performing career Sarah teaches singing in London and holds popular singing courses with Stephen Gutman, at Benslow Music and Jackdaws in Somerset.

In January 2013 Hull University awarded Sarah Leonard a Degree of Doctor of Music, honoris causa for her services to music.

Spring and Summer

Benjamin Britten: If it’s ever Spring again

Ivor Gurney: Spring 

Frederick Delius: To Daffodils                                                                 

Michael Head: A Green Cornfield                                                       

Vaughan Williams: Silent Noon                                                                  

Benjamin Britten: Notturno (piano solo)

Mozart: Sehnsucht nach dem Frühlinge                                 

Mozart: Das Veilchen

Gustav Mahler: Frühlingsmorgen                                                                   

Mahler: Ablösung im Sommer

Richard Strauss: Ständchen

Scott Manson: Spring Thunder (runner up 2021 Benslow Music Young Composers Competition - 18 years and under category) 

Christopher Churcher: Very Early Spring (winner 2021 Benslow Music Young Composers Competition - 18 years and under category)  

Tan Tiag Yi: I so Liked Spring (winner 2021 Benslow Music Young Composers Competition - 19-25 years category)    

Stravinsky: Two Poems of Balmont                                              

Stravinsky: The Flower

Stravinsky: The Dove                                                              

Stravinsky: Three Japanese Lyrics                                                        

Ravel: Oiseaux Tristes (piano solo)                                             

Stravinsky: The Owl and the Pussycat                                         

Rachmaninov: Margaritki (Daisies) Op 38 No 3                                   

Rachmaninov: These Summer Nights Op 14 No 5

Watch the preview...